Press Releases


Hampton University President Dr. William R. Harvey Awards Inaugural Norma B. Harvey Character Award [Press Release].

Dr. William R. Harvey, Hampton University President, has named Dr. Chutima Boonthum-Denecke, Professor of Computer Science, as the inaugural recipient of the Norma B. Harvey Character Award. The newly established award, born from Dr. Harvey’s latest gift of $100,000 to Hampton University and named for his wife of 54 years, is given to a faculty member whose actions demonstrate good character and encourage character development in other University constituents. As a recipient of the award, she will receive a $1,000 bonus to be used at her discretion.

Hampton University Professor Participates in Virtual Event with US Department of Homeland Security Secretary. [Press Release]

On Wednesday, March 31, Hampton University computer science professor, Dr. Chutima Boonthum-Denecke participated in the US Department of Homeland Security’s virtual event, “Confronting Realities: A vision for Cybersecurity Resilience.” The purpose of this special event with Homeland Security Secretary, Alejandro N. Mayorkas, was to provide the Secretary the opportunity to outline his vision and roadmap for the Department’s cybersecurity efforts.  

Confronting Realities: A Vision for Cybersecurity Resilience. [RSAConference WebcastYouTube]

DHS event

The U.S. is confronted with unprecedented cybersecurity challenges. President Biden has declared that tackling these challenges is a top priority for the Biden-Harris administration. Join us for this special event with US Secretary of Homeland Security, Alejandro N. Mayorkas, who will outline his vision and roadmap for the Department’s cybersecurity efforts. The Secretary will be joined by the Girl Scouts’ Interim CEO, Judith Batty for a fireside chat. Dr. Chutima Boonthum-Denecke from Hampton University’s Computer Science Department will introduce the Secretary and facilitate a Q&A to close the program. 

Hampton University Computer Science Department Hosts HBCU Computer Science Faculty Research Workshop. [Press Release]

Hampton University, with Dr. Jean Muhammad, Department of Computer Science chair (PI) and Dr. Chutima Boonthum-Denecke (Co-PI), was awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant (CNS-1849541) to host HBCU Computer Science Faculty Research workshops over the next year, promoting cross-institutional strategies.